top of page

Recording Amplifiers vs Reamping

A lot of recording engineers like to record guitars through real amplifiers for final guitar tracks, but I think that recording DI (Direct Input) signals work better for later in the project. When I record my guitars for my music, I prefer to record my guitar’s DI signal, which is the signal being picked up though the guitars pickups and nothing else, so that I can find the tone I want within a virtual amp simulator and reamp the guitars after the recording process is finished. What’s great about remaping is that once you have recorded DI tracks, you always have those tracks to go back to and reamp using any amp sim that sounds best to you. The reason why I prefer this process over standard amp recordings is because it gives you more freedom do go back at any time and change the sound of the guitar amp. With amp recordings, you are unable to change the tone of the amplifier itself and can only try to EQ the track to get the sound that you are looking for which is not always the best option. Virtual amp simulators may not be the warm sounding original amp, but with all of the different programs available today, there is so much variety that you can get rather than spending thousands of dollars on expensive amps. After a long day of recording, I would rather have the flexibility of messing with tones that comes with reamping DI tracks!

Check out Ryan Bruce aka "Fluff" reviewing BIAS desktop!


Recent Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Featured Posts
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive

© 2016 by Riley Olin
Proudly created with
Wix.com
 

bottom of page